Saturday, June 15, 2024

Cardinal Clips: Issue 7

Jeremiah Smith (left) and Ikechukwu Ezike (right) join the roster for the 2023-24 season.


Cardinal Clips is a bite-sized, condensed look at Plattsburgh State Athletics and its programs.


The Cardinals are almost back for DIII basketball action. With the 2023-24 season beginning Nov. 8, the official Plattsburgh State men’s basketball roster has been announced.

Aidan McGuire is the only center listed on the roster. He is also the only first-year.

Three forwards rejoin the roster this year: sophomore Ankush Malhotra, junior Ladan Graves and senior Orlando Dawkins.

Seven guards return to the frontcourt: sophomore AJ Williams Jr.; juniors Franklin Infante, Kevin Tabb, Sasha Vidrini and Matt Kone-Bradshaw; and seniors Willard Anderson Jr. and Darren Wright.

Five transfers will suit up for the Cards for the first time, all listed at guard/forward: sophomore Jeremy Jolly, coming from Cortland; junior Ikechukwu Ezike, coming from Jefferson Community College; junior Jeremiah Smith, son of Plattsburgh hall-of-famer Curtis Smith, also coming from Jefferson Community College; graduate student Dylan Trombley, an All-SUNYAC athlete coming from Oneonta; and graduate student Tim Thomas, coming from the NCAA DII program at Flagler College.

Mike Blaine spearheads the Cardinals coaching staff, as he enters his fifth year as the head coach. Travis Rice will begin his first year as assistant coach, his first gig with a college program. Travis Gorham and Anthony Skiffington round out the team as volunteer assistant coaches.

The upcoming schedule sees Plattsburgh state facing off against University of Vermont, a DI program, in Burlington, Vermont Nov. 11. Plattsburgh hasn’t faced off against the Catamounts since 1996.

Plattsburgh will also play the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, Rice’s alma mater, Dec. 9.

This will be the last season the Cardinals face the Geneseo Knights and Brockport Golden Eagles in conference action, as the schools announced their departure in August. The Morrisville Mustangs and the Canton Kangaroos will join the SUNYAC in 2024.


- Advertisment -spot_img